# Minutes of the IEEE South Saskatchewan Section ExCom Meeting

# Meeting will be held via

**Date:** Wednesday, January 26th, 2022 at 5:00pm **Venue:** Zoom 978 1008 0711

Elected Members (with Voting Rights)		
Chair	Kin-Choong Yow	Υ
Vice-Chair	Shahedur Rahman	Υ
Secretary	Usman Munawar	Υ
Treasurer	Moeed Shamim	Υ
Membership Development	Shahedur Rahman	Υ
Membership Development (Co-chair)	Aoun E Muhammad	Υ
Professional Activities	Zhanle Wang	Υ
Educational Activities	Tessa Herzberger	
Student Activities	Aditya Pathak	
Student Representative		
Representative (Regina Engineering Society)	Adam Tilson	Υ
Coordinator (STEM)	Soheil Vosta	Υ
Assistant (Grad Student Rep)	Seyed Hamid Mousavi	
Computer Chapter Chair (Ex-officio)	Adam Tilson	Υ
PES/IAS Joint Chapter Chair (Ex-officio)	Usman Munawar	Υ
YP Affinity Group Chair (Ex-officio)	Jason Whitelaw	
WIE Affinity Group Chair (Ex-officio)	Reagan Ong	Υ
Immediate Past Chair (Ex-officio)	Irfan Al-Anbagi	
Immediate Past Treasurer (Ex-officio)	Jason Whitelaw	
Non-elected Members (Non-Voting)		
Webmaster	Adam Tilson	
vTools Coordinator	Moeed Shamim	
eNotice Coordinator	Moeed Shamim	
Invited Members (Non-voting)		
Advisor to Student Branch	Doug Wagner	
CCECE 2023 Organizing Chair	Raman Paranjape	Υ
Computer Chapter Vice Chair		
PES/IAS Joint Chapter Vice Chair		
YP Affinity Group Vice Chair	Mohamed Ahmed	
WIE Affinity Group Vice Chair	Kaylee Tumack	Υ
Attendance:		

# 1. Call to Order (Kin-Choong Yow)

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 5:00pm.

#### 2. Welcome + Introduction of Members

The Chairman welcome and thanks to all members to join the ExCom.

## 3. Acceptance of Agenda

**Motion** – To accept the agenda as circulated. [Moeed/Raman] All in favor. No objection and motion carried.

#### 4. Acceptance of Minutes

**Motion** – To accept the previous minutes as circulated. [Adam /Aoun]. All in favor. Motion carried.

## 5. Financial update

Moeed Showed balance of local CIBC bank and guessed NextGen balance due to inability to login into account. He also has done financial reporting to get additional rebates. He also shared previous year rebate which was 3k+ USD. In addition, he discussed that the gift cards will be reported as awards for reporting purpose.

## 6. MGA Operations Manual

Dr. Yow (Chairman) refers the Section 9 of MGA operational Manual which defines the expected activities/responsibilities of the section/chapters/affinity groups.

He also emphasized that the chapters and affinity groups may follow the MGA operational manual guidelines to keep it active.

#### 7. Section Roster 2022

Dr. Yow discussed the section roster and enlightened the positions which need to be filled such as student representative. Also, he proposed that immediate past treasurer may be introduced like past chair. 19 positions are finalized including immediate past treasurer position which has to be added. He also shared the voting and non-voting members.

The list of voting and non-voting members is given below:

Position	Name
Elected Members (with Voting Rights)	
Chair	Kin-Choong Yow
Vice-Chair	Shahedur Rahman
Secretary	Usman Munawar
Treasurer	Moeed Shamim
Membership Development	Shahedur Rahman
Membership Development (Co-chair)	Aoun E Muhammad
Professional Activities	Zhanle Wang
Educational Activities	Tessa Herzberger
Student Activities	Aditya Pathak
Student Representative	
Representative (Regina Engineering Society)	Adam Tilson
Coordinator (STEM)	Soheil Vosta
Assistant (Grad Student Rep)	Seyed Hamid Mousavi
Computer Chapter Chair (Ex-officio)	Adam Tilson
PES/IAS Joint Chapter Chair (Ex-officio)	Usman Munawar
YP Affinity Group Chair (Ex-officio)	Jason Whitelaw
WIE Affinity Group Chair (Ex-officio)	Reagan Ong
Immediate Past Chair (Ex-officio)	Irfan Al-Anbagi
Immediate Past Treasurer (Ex-officio)	Jason Whitelaw
Non-elected Members (Non-Voting)	
Webmaster	Adam Tilson
vTools Coordinator	Moeed Shamim
eNotice Coordinator	Moeed Shamim
Invited Members (Non-voting)	
Advisor to Student Branch	Doug Wagner
CCECE 2023 Organizing Chair	Raman Paranjape
Computer Chapter Vice Chair	
PES/IAS Joint Chapter Vice Chair	
YP Affinity Group Vice Chair	Mohamed Ahmed
WIE Affinity Group Vice Chair	Kaylee Tumack

# 8. Workplan 2022

Dr. Yow (Chairman) proposed the workplan for year 2022.

Dr. Yow requested all organizational units/individuals members to propose activities in the next 3 weeks in order to make activities calendar for a year. He also mentioned that there will be no activity conducted in July and August 2022.

#### 9. Student Branch

Dr. Yow shared that Doug Wagner will try to touch students and help in powering up the new branch leadership. However, Doug Wagner would like to leave the branch counselor position once section find candidate for counselor position.

#### 10. CCECE 2023

Dr. Raman shared the updates on the CCECE 2023. He mentioned that he will present the updated proposal including dates and conference format to Region. He also suggested May or September 2023 as suitable time for CCECE 2023.

#### 11. Succession Plan

Dr. Yow presented the succession plan in which he emphasized that we need to keep finding new people to make section active. To do so, we need to engage new members in team and give them some training as well.

#### 12. Elections 2022

Dr. Yow discussed the elections for year 2022 and appointed Reagon Ong as teller committee lead to hold elections as per IEEE MGA guidelines.

#### 13. AOB

Transition from gift card to reimburse method for meetings:

Mooed: Motion to move from gift card to reimburse method for executive committee meetings: To change the existing food gift card to reimburse method for Executive committee meeting Attendees. You can have your own food with the limit of 20 CAD each meeting. Expense should be submitted within the 30 days of the ExCom meeting.

[Reagan /Usman] All in favor. Motion carried.

The meeting adjourned at 6.05pm [Raman]